top of page

Upcycling | Old Dress to Paperbag Waist Skirt

A while ago I went through my closet and created 3 piles:

  1. Clothes I want to keep

  2. Clothes I want to give away

  3. Clothes I want to upcycle.

The upcycle pile was filled with dresses, skirts, and sweaters that I once loved, but over the years have lost some of the magic that made me want to purchase them in the first place. I put all of the "To Be Upcycled" clothes in a box and stuffed it in my office for a few months while I thought about what I could do with them.

Today I finally decided to figuratively bite the bullet and redo one of the dresses.

I used to call this the paper dress because the material sort of reminded me of paper. The elastic in the waist had lost it's elasticity. And I suppose my bust area is larger than when I originally purchased the dress becuase the fit was awful in that area. So I decided to change what was once the paper dress into a paperbag waist skirt.

 

First, I cut the bust section from the waist ruching elastic section.

Second, I cut up the bust section to make strips for the sash. and removed the ties on the shoulders to make belt loops.

Next, I pinned and sewed the pieces of fabric together to create a sash.

I then ironed, hemmed, and then sewed the edges of the sash.

Next I hand stitched the center of the sash onto the back of the skirt so that it would stay in place.

Lastly, I sewed on belt loops which I ended up not using.

And here are the final pictures!

Let me know is there anything in your closet that you think could be upcycled into something gorgeous? What is it and what do you want to make?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page