top of page

Cosplaying 101- Step 4: Reconnaissance/ Gathering Materials

Welcome back to my Cosplaying 101 series, a beginner's guide to cosplay. This week we are on step 4, reconnaissance/ gathering materials (see list below for a full list). Step 4 overlaps a little with the previous step (mini step 3 specifically, breaking down your items list by source/store) so be sure to check that out to get the full picture of how to complete this step.

If you would like to watch my youtube video rather than read this post, you can see it below:

In that previous step, you created a list of items you needed and which stores you could get them from. Now it's time to go shopping! When I go to stores like Hobby Lobby or Home Depot, I like to begin my recon by walking around the store with my sketch and materials list in hand. I do this to get an idea of what items are available. Sometimes I find inspiration for new props or details I can add to my cosplay. It also helps for when I have drawn something in my design that I'm not sure how to make. For example, for my Hawkgirl cosplay, I want to carry a mace that will light up. In order to do this, I need the bludgeoning part of the mace to be some sort of clear plastic sphere that will hold it's shape when it is cut open. However, I have no idea if this object even exists and whether I can use it. When I walk around the store with my sketch, I can look for objects that can be used for this purpose.

I also like to collect the following information for items on my materials list:

  • The name of the store where the item is located. You think you won't forget, but you don't want to look like a fool when you do forget and you're standing in Home Depot asking about their $10 EVA foam, and their like, "What are you even talking about?" That is not a true story because I write down the store names.

  • Dimensions You will need this for several reasons including, but not limited to the following: to compare the same object at similar stores, so you can know how big it will be on your costume, and so that you can know how big or how much of other items you will need that may need to connect to this piece (example story: so for my Poison Ivy cosplay, I needed a buckle D-ring thingy to attach to my leotard and to my armor pieces. I needed to use leather strapping material in order to attach this d-ring buckle thingy. Well, I purchased the leather strapping from one store, and later that day found buckles that I liked to go with it. However, I did not remember or record how wide the leather straps were, so I did not know if the buckle was the correct size. Thankfully, it was still in the car and my lovely Lovebug ran out to the car and brought the leather straps inside for me. But had it not been in the car, I would have had to guess about the size which could have cost me more time and money).

  • Price. You use this information to do price comparisons. Also so that when you are looking through the weekly ads online (we will discuss this later), you will know what the original price is to take the discount from.

  • A picture see anecdote above about forgetting stuff. I like to use my phone to take a picture of the item; that way I will more than likely have it with me, even when I am in another store and I have gotten confused about what color spray paint I purchased, or how wide the belt fastener is at Joann's compared to the one at Hobby Lobby, or what color the fabric that I want to make Guy Sensei's shirt is (2 out of 3 of these are true stories,...unfortunately). Also if your picture taking skills are awesome enough (and I'm sure they are) you can gather all this information in one picture for each item.

So after I collect that information I like to go home and revisit and revise my original design. I like to make sure that what I thought I could make, I actually can make. I think about the items at the store and if I saw something better for my cosplay I consider what materials I will need to attach pieces to other pieces. I also start looking online at weekly ads (usually Hobby Lobby) so that I can see when the items I want go on sale. This is why it is useful to have the pictures because some stores like Hobby Lobby list their sale items by brands. If you have a picture, you can look to see if your brand is on sale (cause those brands can be super hard to remember). Over the next few weeks/months, I work on buying the items on my lists. I don't like to buy my items on the same day that I do my recon because I get a little excited at Hobby Lobby, and I lose all sense of reason, and I start buying things cause I think I'm going to need them, but then I don't, but I keep them anyway, and then I get frustrated with myself about how much I spent, and then several weeks later I find something much better at my Mommy's house for free...so yeah, I don't buy and recon on the same day.

If you want to know all the steps in the Cosplaying 101 series, see the list below. And stay tuned for the next step, Making Your Cosplay.

Cosplaying 101 Steps

4. Reconnaissance/ Gathering Materials (you are here)

5. Making Your Cosplay

6. Test Driving/ Revisions

7. Extras and Props

8. Posing

9. Wearing Your Cosplay

10. Cleaning and Storing Your Cosplays

Any detail I missed?

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Leave them in the comment box below!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page